The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making Author Catherynne M. Valente
ISBN-10 1250010195
ISBN-13 9781250010193
Year 2012-05-08
Pages 288
Language English
Publisher Square Fish
Download Link Click Here

One of the most extraordinary works of fantasy for adults or children published so far this century Time magazine on the Fairyland seriesTwelve year old September lives in Omaha and used to have an ordinary life until her father went to war and her mother went to work One day September is met at her kitchen window by a Green Wind taking the form of a gentleman in a green jacket who invites her on an adventure implying that her help is needed in Fairyland The new Marquess is unpredictable and fickle and also not much older than September Only September can retrieve a talisman the Marquess wants from the enchanted woods and if she doesn t then the Marquess will make life impossible for the inhabitants of Fairyland September is already making new friends including a book loving Wyvern and a mysterious boy named Saturday With exquisite illustrations by acclaimed artist Ana Juan Fairyland lives up to the sensation it created when author Catherynne M Valente first posted it online as a serialized novel For readers of all ages who love the charm of Alice in Wonderland and the soul of The Golden Compass here is a reading experience unto itself unforgettable and so very beautiful The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making is the first book in the Fairyland series by Catherynne M Valente with beautiful black and white illustrations by Ana Juan Catherynne M Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of the Fairyland series for young readers and the author of many books for adults including Radiance The adventures continue in the rest of the Fairyland series including The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There Volume Two The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two Volume Three The Boy Who Lost Fairyland Volume Four and The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home Volume Five Not since Oz has there been a land or a cast of characters so rich and entrancing This deluxe paperback edition contains bonus materials including interviews with the author and the illustrator A New York Times BestsellerA Publishers Weekly Best Children s Fiction TitleWinner Andre Norton Award for YA Science Fiction and FantasyA National Public Radio Best Middle Grade Book of the YearA National Public Radio Top Five Science Fiction Fantasy Title of the YearAn Amazon Best Book of the YearA Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the YearA Booklist Editors ChoiceA New York Public Library Top 100 Books for Reading and SharingA glorious balancing act between modernism and the Victorian Fairy Tale done with heart and wisdom Neil Gaiman Newbery Awardwinning author of The Graveyard BookSeptember is a clever fun stronghearted addition to the ranks of bold adventurous girls Valente s subversive storytelling is sheer magic Tamora Pierce author of The Immortals seriesA mad toothsome romp of a fairy talefull of oddments whimsy and joy Holly Black author of the Spiderwick ChroniclesWhen I saw that this book reminds me simultaneously of E Nesbit James Thurber and the late Eva Ibbotson I don t mean to take anything away from its astonishing originality It s a charmer from the first page managing the remarkable parlay of being at once ridiculously funny and surprisingly suspenseful Catherynne Valente is a find at any age Peter S Beagle author of The Last UnicornThis is a kind of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by way of Alice s Adventures in Wonderlandit s the sort of book one doesn t want to end Publishers Weekly starred review Fairyland creates a world as bizarre and enchanting as any Wonderland or Oz and a heroine as curious resourceful and brave as any Alice or Dorothy Complex rich and memorable Kirkus Reviews starred review

Other Version:

The Fairyland Series

The Fairyland Series Author Catherynne M. Valente
ISBN-10 9781466885547
Release 2014-11-18
Pages 784